17th Annual Meeting. Pembroke College, Cambridge, Monday 25th to Friday 29th March 1985
John Holloway's design for the 
      1985 Conference emblemElectron Spin Resonance of Inorganic Radicals and Metal Ions in Inorganic and Biological Systems

Plenary Lectures

Paramagnetic Early Transition Metal Metallocenes. Professor J. L. Petersen, West Virginia University, U.S.A.
EPR Spectra of Exchange Coupled Systems. Dr D. Gatteschi, {A. Bencini, C. Benelli and C. Zanchini}, University of Florence, Italy
Blue Oxidases: Rôle of copper sites in the mechanism. Professor B. Reinhammar, Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden
ENDOR of Metalloenzymes. Professor Brian M. Hoffman, Northwestern University, Michigan, U.S.A.
EPR studies of electron transferring proteins from thermus. Professor J. A. Fee, University of California at Los Angeles, U.S.A.
Metal Clusters in Matrices. Professor D. M. Lindsay, City University of New York, U.S.A.
Advanced techniques in ESR for the study of molecular structures. Professor A. Schweiger, ETH, Z&uulm;rich, Switzerland.
The Binuclear Iron Centre of Pink and Purple Uteroferrin. Professor P. Aisen, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, New York, U.S.A.
+ 16 short lectures and posters. 92 participants from 11 countries. There were two organised tours to choose, a coach to Ely Cathedral or a guided tour of some of the Cambridge colleges.

At the Committee Meeting of the Group on the 25th March, Professor Atherton reported his discussions with Bruker about a named lectureship. The details were to be worked out but were expected to comprise a monetary prize to the scientist who had made a major contribution to the field of ESR. The Bruker prize lectures started in 1986.